Peter Bryce Prize for Whistleblowing

The Peter Bryce Prize is awarded annually by the Centre for Free Expression to recognize and honour individuals who serve the greater good by courageously speaking up about wrongdoing and abuses of public trust.

The prize is named after Dr. Peter H. Bryce, an early Canadian whistleblower who in 1907, spoke up about appalling public health conditions in residential schools.

Recipients of the Peter Bryce Prize will receive a $5,000 award made possible by the generosity of the Zita and Mark Bernstein Family Foundation.

Nominations for the Prize can be made by any member of the public. The nomination form (see below) should be completed no later than December 31st of each year. The winner will be selected by the Peter Bryce Prize Awards Committee. If you have questions or would like additional information, please contact Ange Holmes, Coordinator, Centre for Free Expression:

List of Peter Bryce Prize Winners

Nomination form for Peter Bryce Prize

Peter Bryce Prize Awards Committee​




Peter H. Bryce Biography