Peter Bryce Prize for Whistleblowing - List of Winners

2021 Inaugural award:

Dr. John O’Connor wins the 2021 Peter Bryce Prize

Alberta physician John O’Connor was awarded 2021 Peter Bryce Prize that honours individuals who serve the greater good by courageously speaking up about wrongdoing and abuses of public trust.

His reports, starting in 2006, of an unexpected number of cancers and other health problems among the residents of the remote northern Alberta community of Fort Chipewyan were rebuffed by authorities and led to an ongoing fifteen year struggle for the health rights of this largely Indigenous community and others downstream from the Alberta oil sands.

Read the press release

Watch the full video of the award presentation